President-Elect Darla Crown announced the Rotarian of the Year award to Dr. Scott Van Dam at the regular morning meeting on June 27. Scott was the chair of this year’s annual Mt. Rushmore Gala, however, a major renovation precluded the use of the dining area this year so the Gala event committee created "March Gladness!" The community was encouraged to donate to a non-event, or host “mini events.” That effort raised over $25,000, matching previous year’s donations. Out-going President Jean Cline commended Scott Van Dam for his efforts to improve the lives of children, proceeds go to meet the Rapid City Rushmore Rotary club's challenge to raise $250,000 for the Child Advocacy Center.